So should we go to see The Hobbit……

Well each year we normally take 5-600 people to see a film at the local cinema. It’s been great fun and because we have lots of children it is usually a film that most will go to see. Often the film people let us see a film early – so last year we went to see Voyage of the Dawn Treader (and saw a pre-release very kindly due to Fox cinema people) . The year before we saw A Christmas Carol. This year we didn’t see a film (which is a bit of a shame) and there are no new Narnia films expected for several years at the least.

So planning for next year I was wondering about The Hobbit part 1 (part 2 in 2013). Loved the book as a child and the Peter Jackson’s trilogy of The Lord of the Rings. So, is it taking a big risk by going to see The Hobbit? Will it work for children as well as adults? The original book is a children’s book and has far less of the darkness of The Lord of the Rings.

The Guardian’s take on the clip is

The first instalment of a two-part adaptation of JRR Tolkien‘s book looks a different animal to the frosty, frightening world of Jackson’s Lord of the Ring’s trilogy, said Ben. “There’s very little of the sinister overtone and sense of irredeemable loss that pervades the book’s brilliantly icy and expansive sequels,” he said. What the trailer (and therefore, we guess, the film) doeshave a lot of is singing, some thing that Ben found it a bit hard to get in tune with. “This time around Jackson’s clearly embracing the twee,” he said.

Here’s the trailer, what do you think? Can we take children to see it? I imagine that it will have a 12A certificate (though I am hopeful it might get a PG – like the first two LOTR’s).

Some other pictures I’ve picked up from the Web (we provide all mod cons on this site – oh yes! Usual tip: Click on a picture to start a slideshow to see the pictures in large size so that you can see them better)

Update 11th October 2012:

More Hobbit pictures and more info about the Hobbit and hopefully we’re off to see it here: https://willcookson.wordpress.com/2012/10/10/off-to-see-the-hobbit/

Update 18th December 2012:

My review of the Hobbit: https://willcookson.wordpress.com/2012/12/18/review-of-the-hobbit-an-unexpected-journey/

8 comments on “So should we go to see The Hobbit……

  1. Jean
    December 23, 2011 at 10:32 am #

    I’m no child but I feel I have waited all my life for a high quality film of The Hobbit (or There and back again) to be precise. There have been some very sad animations that I am sure Tolkein would have vetoed had he been alive! With any film, it has to be a parent’s choice and there are plenty of children of the right age to make this a great trip. I will be first in line for tickets. To not go because some children might not be able to see it would be a shame.
    Do you detect a Hobbit fan? Incidentally, I used to be able to write in runes and speak a few words of elvish. I can also pronounce Gandalf as Tolkein intended. Oh yes…. I’m full of surprises!

  2. Angela Baker
    December 23, 2011 at 11:08 am #

    Wow! From the trailer, it looks fantastic!
    Can we see it in 3D please? Please?
    I’m 2nd in the queue for a ticket, (Jean beat me to pole position).
    God bless,
    Angela x

  3. Will Cookson
    December 23, 2011 at 2:56 pm #

    I saw that it is in 3D – not sure what I feel about 3D (and also I know that for some it gives them a headache)

    I suppose the question that I have is not “will you come?” but will you bring people from outside the church with you?

    • Angela Baker
      December 23, 2011 at 9:43 pm #

      Thanks for your comments. Will, I do understand that some folks find 3D very disconcerting, especially until one’s eyes adjust to it…I just mentioned that because V.O.T.D.T. seemed so effective in 3D.
      I would certainly bring visitors. I think we’ve been able to create a lovely welcoming atmosphere at our cinema events so far, so it’s a real winner.
      God bless,
      Angela x

  4. Rosie Edser
    December 23, 2011 at 3:44 pm #

    Ha ha those dwarves seem to be a study in what you can do with braids for mascuine hair.

    If fantasty’s your thing I’m sure you’ll bring buddies with similar taste whether or not it’s a 12A.

  5. Helen C
    December 24, 2011 at 1:57 pm #

    Well only the other week my sister was asking whether we were doing a cinema trip this year and I was pleasantly surprised that she seemed so keen to come again with her family. So I vote yes!

    But my vote goes to 2D as I am one of those who struggles with 3D – I often end up taking the glasses off! And it really doesn’t work that well if you are sat at the front either, as we discovered last time. (Note to self: must arrive earlier next year to get a parking space and hence a better seat!)

  6. sandykin
    December 26, 2011 at 1:06 pm #

    Being a spectacle wearer (varifocals) I find 3D disconcerting and difficult as I have to keep moving my head around! I prefer 2D as easier to follow the story. Loved the Hobbit as a teenager: my English teacher was an actor (married to Barbara Murray) and did the most wonderful rendition of Gollum. Totally want to go and have friends that would love to see it too!
    Pleeeeeeease!

    Sandy

  7. David
    December 28, 2011 at 10:13 am #

    Just need to change the draft budget again…..

Leave a comment