What questions do you want me to ask the Archbishop of Canterbury??

Well, as I have already mentioned once or twice we have the Archbishop of Canterbury visiting Springfield Church for our twentieth anniversary celebration this Sunday. 

The service will include an interview with the Archbishop by yours truly. I have thought through some of the areas for questions; these include the the role and place of new forms of church in the Church of England, his recent debate with Richard Dawkins and the role of the new atheist movement, the role of prayer in his life etc.

But you may well have questions that you would like me to ask him. So, put them below and lets see what we have time for (and whether I like the questions!!). Please don’t bother with “point scoring” questions as this is a celebration that he is attending and not an interview with Jeremy Paxman!

In terms of his debate with Richard Dawkins if you haven’t seen it then you can watch it on youtube (see video below). If you have an hour and a half then sit down and watch it. I thought it a very good and thoughtful discussion and well worth the watch.

13 comments on “What questions do you want me to ask the Archbishop of Canterbury??

  1. Steve_Bz
    March 15, 2012 at 2:51 pm #

    Good luck, I hope it goes well.

    I’m sure you’ll ask him this anyway, but I would ask him how he keeps his faith alive and continues to trust in God.

    As you know, Mother Teresa for many years felt abandoned by God. Here are her words. And they may be the words of many of us.

    “Where is my faith? – even deep down, right in, there is nothing but emptiness & darkness. – My God – how painful is this unknown pain. It pains without ceasing. – I have no faith. – I dare not utter the words & thoughts that crowd in my heart – & make me suffer untold agony. So many unanswered questions live within me – I am afraid to uncover them – because of the blasphemy – If there be God, – please forgive me. – Mother Teresa”

  2. Angela Baker
    March 15, 2012 at 5:07 pm #

    Hi Will,
    As I’m sure there will be lots of serious (but absolutely valid) questions like the one above, I would go for something a bit more light-hearted. E.g., as many folk at Springfield enjoy football, how about asking if he has a favourite sport. If he likes a team sport like football, you could follow up with ‘which team does he support?’

    I hope this won’t be construed as ‘point scoring’.

    I guess the risk is that he could polarise the audience. (Feelings can run high when it comes to footie!) I hope, however, that we would be generous enough to overlook it if he supports an opposing team to our personal favourite. (For the record, I support Spurs & Arsenal).

    Looking forward to it!
    God bless,
    Angela x

  3. L.F.
    March 15, 2012 at 5:49 pm #

    Which modern day person inspires him ? and what is his favourite book ?

  4. Will Cookson
    March 15, 2012 at 6:07 pm #

    Thanks and great keep them coming – the more the better!!

  5. Jean
    March 15, 2012 at 9:28 pm #

    I agree with Angela that think it would be good to include something lighthearted. I enjoyed reading the transcript of his conversation with Frank Skinner – does he have a favourite comedian or joke? Hope this doesn’t appear trite.

    I will get to hear what the young people ask which I’m really looking forward to.

  6. sammo
    March 15, 2012 at 11:55 pm #

    I would ask – if you could ask God (Father, Son or Holy Spirit) one question, and you are guaranteed an answer that is clear and you would understand – what would that question be?

  7. Sue Bosley
    March 16, 2012 at 3:30 pm #

    As Archbishop Rowan has just announced his resignation today, I would like to know if there is one particular moment or highlight in the last ten years that he will always remember

  8. David
    March 16, 2012 at 10:29 pm #

    1) What would he like his tenure as ABC to be most remembered for?

    2) Hector Sants of the FSA has also announced he is standing down this year. Would the ABC be interested in a job swap with him?

  9. Lord Wallington
    March 17, 2012 at 10:01 am #

    If I was a gambling man, which of course I am not, and I had a spare £100 would the AB of C recommend that I backed Nick Baines to be his replacement ?

    He is available at 6/1 with Paddypower and 5/1 with William Hill.

  10. Rebecca Brearley
    March 17, 2012 at 10:53 am #

    Hi Will,

    Really looking forward to tomorrow! Could you ask how does he know when God is talking to him?

    Thanks, Becky

    • Steve_Bz
      March 17, 2012 at 9:32 pm #

      What an excellent question!

  11. Will Cookson
    March 17, 2012 at 1:48 pm #

    Thanks for all the questions. A little more time until they are all finalised and so if you have any more chuck them in.

    Toby, actually a better bet is Christopher Cocksworth 😉 – he has the theological “heavyweight” tag and is well respected across the church. He is little mentioned at the moment but I suspect that an appointments committee won’t mind that!

  12. Ashley DICKENSON
    March 18, 2012 at 8:44 am #

    Though he leaves a church divided, ie over the question of women bishops (that I would not agree with) I’m glad he’s taken a ‘conservative’ line over gay marriage.

Leave a Reply

