Guest Blog post: Becky’s day

The team dancing with the RUSH widows

Joan and Angela with some of the widows

Well Tuesday has been one of the most eye-opening day I have ever had! We started with the women’s meeting in the morning. It was indescribable.
The ladies there had so much faith (I am finding it so hard to write what happened today)people are seriously ill with things like HIV/Aids,yet they were praising the lord with all there might,dancing as if there were no worries in the world,singing as if they were performing for the king himself . When we had worship, the room filled with the holy spirit and everyone spoke in tongues and worshipped the lord, I really cannot describe the atmosphere in the room but I was in tears ,my body feeling overwhelmed with the holy spirit. one woman named Maria who I don’t think I will ever forget, smiled at me and that’s all it took to make me feel at peace .After she declared that I was her daughter! (a sign of respect) she hugged me and I felt as if I was going to cry again !

Jacqueline's mud hut

After we went to see the site where we are planning to help build a house for a lady called Josephine; she was so humble and so lovely. We went to a café and she didn’t know what to do. We had to tell her how to use a straw and when she saw the food ( wow) she looked as if someone had bought her a car .We gave her some of the leftovers again she was so pleased and so grateful .We went to her mud hut and she had nothing and her two daughters were retarded and ( this made me and Cecile feel so upset and angry) because they had been abused and had children. Josephine husband had died and his family came to chop down all the beds to get rid of the spirits and they were about to chop down the rest of her mud hut when Lucy stopped them (thankfully). Josephine was dealing with so much and so much hurt and pain however she still worshipped the lord and loved him and never doubted him.

The poverty is really bad and many kids are running around with no shoes and ripped clothes but they are all so happy and cheerful. This is what I find truly inspirational they have hardly anything but they are so happy and content with what they have .As westerners we are persuaded by TV and advertising that we need more and that if you don’t have that then you are not cool enough or smart enough. We use these objects to define what type of status we have, they have nothing yet they are content and happy with what they have. They have a mud hut for a house and they are so pleased to call it their home,would you? My heart is opening and my eyes are finally seeing all these things that we have shut out to protect ourselves. I love it here! I feel as if I can never explain it in 3 paragraphs the emotions and the feeling that we are all going through but it truly and utterly changes how you see things !! 🙂

12 comments on “Guest Blog post: Becky’s day

  1. Brigitte
    February 15, 2012 at 2:42 pm #

    Very moving and humbling, Becky. Thanks for sharing this experience with us. Love to all.

  2. Melanie
    February 15, 2012 at 3:38 pm #

    Becky, I am filled with emotion having just read your post.

    God’s Holy Spirit and Love is overflowing in that place.

    I echo Brigitte, Thank you for sharing your experience.

    Lots of love, Melanie xxx

  3. Steve_Bz
    February 15, 2012 at 3:52 pm #

    Amen.

  4. Lucy x
    February 15, 2012 at 6:41 pm #

    That is truly AMAZING!!! I can’t wait to hear even more about all the life changing things that you have experienced. Love you and miss you. I am praying for all of you!
    Lots of love Lucy xxx

  5. Melanie Jeffery
    February 15, 2012 at 7:16 pm #

    Hi again everybody,
    Thanks for sending the videos, it is just so great to see you all.
    Will, you also need to get someone to film you running around chasing the monkey’s with a plastic bag, that would be great fun !

    Lots of love, Melanie x

    ps A big hug for G.J.

  6. Margaret Jeffery
    February 15, 2012 at 7:26 pm #

    It is absolutely wonderful to hear of your experiences. Can’t wait to hear more. May God bless you all abundantly in your endeavours. Love Margaret Jeffery

  7. Angie Cookson
    February 15, 2012 at 9:40 pm #

    Sounds like you’re having an amazing experience! Can’t wait to hear more about it! Sending you big hugs beautiful girl xxx

  8. Lydia
    February 17, 2012 at 10:47 am #

    Hey becks, it sounds amazing! We’re loving the updates that we’re getting every day. Especially love you in school uniform – you look sooo cute! 🙂 hehe. Praying that you have a fabulous rest of the week! Can’t wait to hear about it! xxx

  9. Zaynab Piracha
    February 17, 2012 at 1:03 pm #

    sooooo great to hear that your having fun bex! cant wait to hear more when you come back 🙂 hope you get well soon xxxx

    loooaaadddssss of love zaynab!

  10. Cecile
    February 23, 2012 at 9:04 pm #

    Becky I didn’t get a chance to read your blog until now! It’s BEAUTIFUL! Well done hun for capturing it so well! 🙂 x

  11. angela Hope
    February 25, 2012 at 1:20 pm #

    Becky I have only just found the time to read this through throroughly but you have expressed my feeliongs far more easily than I could myself and I thank you from the bottom of my heart. Well done.

  12. joan Hadlow
    June 9, 2013 at 9:46 am #

    …..and I’m later than everyone to find this piece of extraordinary writing………brilliant…..and enjoy your next trip.
    Joan x

Leave a Reply

