What are you favourite and worst carols?

Choir singing at Springfield Church Carol Service

Earlier this week I asked you what your favourite Christmas service is?

David in that post, suggested that I ask you what your favourite carol was. So, I’ve gone one step further and I’m asking you for your favourite and worst carols. You can choose up to three in each category.

A good way of thinking of it is – which carol when its played makes you want to sing along and gives you a boost and which ones make you cringe and set your teeth on edge?

I haven’t tried to put up every carol but only the ones that we will be singing this year at Springfield. You can write in one that isn’t on the list if you want to.

So, first up, what are your favourite carols?

Then, what are your worst carols?

9 comments on “What are you favourite and worst carols?

  1. Angela Baker
    December 16, 2011 at 12:25 pm #

    Hi all,
    I’ve only voted in the ‘favourites’ section, as there are none that I vehemently dislike. There are, however, a couple that make me cry: ‘Silent night’ & ‘Away in a manger’….I won’t go into detail on the reasons why (phew) 😉
    Look forward to seeing what other folks think! God bless,
    Angela x

  2. James Deans
    December 16, 2011 at 12:48 pm #

    Away in a Manger actually brings on a bout of depression!

  3. Will Cookson
    December 16, 2011 at 8:54 pm #

    James,

    Welcome to the blog. There are some carols that just get to you! What’s interesting at the moment is that its Little Donkey that is the most disliked and not Away in a Manger (though its close behind – sorry Angela).

  4. nig
    December 17, 2011 at 12:23 am #

    I love most carols

    I hate altered words which dilute or change the meaning into anodyne pap and render them ineffectual.

    I love a good descant [even though I haven’t been able to sing that high for four decades- even in falsetto]

    The struggling guitarist in me hates four chord changes in a bar

    I love how some carols will engage other peoples emotions, and stir up some passion

    I hate ‘lift music’ carols in shopping centres

    That’s three of each, but really for me…

    Carols may be no more than [and no less than] a part of our worship and a part of who we were created to be in an intimate and awestruck relationship with God. Whether we love or hate a particular carol, it is still part of creation’s singing with the angels in praise of our lord, which we are called to join. By an act of will, the grace of God and the help of the Holy Spirit, we may engage in this communal act of worship no matter how sublime or crass it may appear to our sensibilities.

    Looking forward to six services with carols in eight days

  5. Angela Baker
    December 17, 2011 at 1:48 am #

    Yes, I’m looking forward to the Christmas services too!

    Just thought of another carol which moves me to tears: ‘Oh Holy Night’, because the melody is sooooo beautiful…. especially in the wonderful atmosphere of the Midnight service!

    I agree with Nigel that it doesn’t really matter if we don’t like a particular carol (or any hymn/worship song for that matter). If it brings glory to God, and we can praise & worship God by singing/playing it, let’s join in!!

    Happy Christmas!
    Love,
    Angela xx

  6. Helen C
    December 17, 2011 at 11:51 pm #

    O Holy Night is my favourite too, but only if it’s sung REALLY well – if the singers don’t quite make the high notes it spoils it for me. Doesn’t stop me attempting to sing it (and failing to do it justice) in the privacy of my own home though!

  7. Helen C
    December 18, 2011 at 12:00 am #

    Oh, and having just viewed the results so far I’m interested to see that Silent Night isn’t more popular. When I used to do carol singing on Bromley High Street, Silent Night seemed to be everyone’s favourite, as we always got a lot more money thrown in the bucket when we sang that than when we sang any other carol. Maybe we just sang that one better?

    • Will Cookson
      December 18, 2011 at 10:18 am #

      Helen, I think that you are onto something with this. I think that this is a classic example of how “insiders” and “outsiders” view things often in a very different way. We often get hung up with the lyrics (eg away in a manager) whilst for others it brings back good memories or they like the tune

  8. sandykin
    December 26, 2011 at 1:15 pm #

    I voted dislike for Little Donkey: being assailed by a grandma with a Nina & frederick version EVERY christmas as what kids should like in a christmas song. I have remained traumatised ever since!! I am quite happy to sing anything else, all be it badly.

    Sandy

    PS who else remembers Nina & Frederick?

Leave a Reply

