What’s your favourite Christmas Service?

Springfield Nativity Service

Well we’re just about to embark on our Christmas Services here at Springfield, so I wondered what your favourite Christmas Service is. It would also be great if you could also say why.

10 comments on “What’s your favourite Christmas Service?

  1. tallandrew
    December 12, 2011 at 4:10 pm #

    It has to have a talk imo too – I don’t like the 9 lessons and carols when there is no talk…

  2. Will Cookson
    December 12, 2011 at 4:19 pm #

    Andrew, I quite agree, it feels lacking not to have a talk – almost a skirting around the central theme of Jesus.

  3. Rosie Edser
    December 12, 2011 at 8:55 pm #

    Definitely Midnight – preferably with Maddie singing ‘Thorns in the Straw’… although ‘Angel Gabriel’ is allowed to put in an appearance too 🙂

  4. Harvey Edser
    December 12, 2011 at 8:57 pm #

    Either Midnight or Carols for me… I love singing carols, but you can’t beat the magical atmosphere of Midnight Mass (sorry, Communion)… mind you, it does have strong associations for me of chasing the vicar down the road trying to ask him if I could marry his daughter 15 years ago 😉

  5. Jean
    December 12, 2011 at 10:14 pm #

    I echo what Rosie says. Maddie has the voice of an angel… match that with Thorns in the straw and I an in heaven!

    The best part is just after midnight when we sing, “Yeay Lord we greet thee, born this happy morning…” A few years ago we didn’t sing it and I felt as if Christmas hadn’t arrived.

    Hmmmm. Who do I need to speak to to make sure it is IN this year?

  6. Sue
    December 12, 2011 at 11:00 pm #

    Carol service, but it has to have a talk…. big outreach opportunity, message has to be clear. Can’t be as gracious as Rosie though, for me would be all the better without the carol you love and I don’t!

  7. Will Cookson
    December 13, 2011 at 7:35 pm #

    You’ll be pleased to know that it looks like we might have The Angel Gabriel twice this year! I must admit that I don’t get “Thorns in the Straw” – not my cup of tea although I am probably in a minority on that one!! Like Maddie’s voice though!

  8. nig
    December 13, 2011 at 10:14 pm #

    I like the christmas day service because it really brings home wot christmas is about: christmas day isn’t christmas without the mayhem of the morning service: kids & their toys; who got up earliest and yes singing Yea Lord we greet thee! Fave carol is the Calypso carol coz its so bouncy!
    Sandy
    <

  9. David
    December 14, 2011 at 2:46 pm #

    Will,
    Why not run a favourite carol poll? See if Away in a Manger gets near the top…….

    • Will Cookson
      December 14, 2011 at 2:51 pm #

      David, great idea, though I might turn it around and go for worst – watch this space!

Leave a Reply

