Video

Death and destruction this Wednesday…..

Well this Wednesday sees an evening of blood, murder, torture, suicide and despair. Yes, that’s right I’m off to the opera!

It’s my final birthday present of the year and my brother and mother are taking Angie and I to see Tosca at the English National Opera to see Catherine Malfitano’s marvellous interpretation. It is one of the truly great operas and when I saw it last time it was a wonderful experience. The music is incredible and the drama great. If you’ve never been to an opera then this is one of the truly greats to get started on.

There is a good review of it in the Evening Standard today

Still relevant today it is the story of politics and humanity. A vicious regime trying to keep power through brutal tactics including torture and murder faced by revolutionaries dreaming of a better future. Sadly, outside this story we also know that the revolution that they seek (that of the French revolution) becomes worse than the regime it replaces.

Some of the greatest music out – enjoy the clip

3 comments on “Death and destruction this Wednesday…..

  1. Jean
    November 28, 2011 at 3:47 pm #

    Ha ha! I thought you were going to blog about the strike! I have never been to an opera, I don’t count G&S, but enjoy the odd ‘popular’ aria or chorus. It sounds spectacular and I hope you have a great time.

  2. johnm55
    November 28, 2011 at 4:30 pm #

    When I saw the post title in my RSS feed I thought you had found another End-Of-The-World prophecy to fillet. Never mind enjoy.

  3. nig
    November 28, 2011 at 5:52 pm #

    Well this Tuesday sees a morning of blood, murder, torture, suicide and despair. Yes, that’s right I’m off to the staff meeting

Leave a Reply

