Statistics, wikio and blogs.. and why you shouldn’t take much notice

Well you won’t know this (just because I bet you don’t) but according to Wikio I am the 46th top blog in the UK to do with Religion and Belief (as a reference point – Nick Baines is number 16). And here is my Wikio badge to prove it:

Wikio - Top Blogs - Religion and belief

To put that into UK overall comparison I am the 1,039th blog in the country. To put it in context in April I was numbered about 17,000!!!

The reason that I have been zooming up the greasy pole? I had a link from another blog!! It may also have been a few twitter mentions – but you get the idea. Now what makes all this seem even more artificial is that I KNOW that I had links from other blogs (John Rentoul of the Independent, Kevin Lewis and others) but these don’t appear to show up.

In other words the system is pretty rubbish and I won’t be displaying my wikio badge out of principle (well principally because my position will obviously go plummeting down again – but if I admit that then I will show that I look out for these things).

But it got me looking at blog statistics in general. There are so many different ways of looking at them. For instance my blog views are just under 40,000. But this tells me, in reality, not a lot. It doesn’t tell me who, whether they read anything or just clicked away. It doesn’t tell me how many actual people visited the blog on the WordPress stats and actually read an article.

I doesn’t tell me whether they were searching for a picture and then clicked away. Did you know that searching on google images is huge? That some of the older blog stories that keep coming up on the currently popular posts tab on the blog are because people are googling images for Steve Jobs (361 googles) or Margaret Thatcher (367 googles) or whoever.

So what do blog stats tell us? Well nothing definitive. they can tell me if I’ve “hit an artery” on popularity of a story. It tells me if the title of my blog might be appealing (by having more people “hit” it). But I think that it just has to be seen as a bit of fun and if people engage with what I write then that’s satisfying – but one can rarely quantify it!

One other thing though.

When there is a spike in popularity there is a tendency for surrounding stories to do better than usual which presumably means that some of the people who found the picture of Maggie or Steve also looked at something else – well that’s nice.

Update

Nigel provides me with a Top blog badge – for his family! How nice. Now this might be one to display on the blog!

wikio badge for Elderkin family

6 comments on “Statistics, wikio and blogs.. and why you shouldn’t take much notice

  1. David
    June 16, 2011 at 12:46 pm #

    Statistics tell us that whilst 6 out of 7 dwarfs are not HAPPY only 1 is actually GRUMPY!

  2. Will Cookson
    June 16, 2011 at 4:03 pm #

    Very good!

  3. johnm55
    June 16, 2011 at 10:21 pm #

    Whilst appreciating and generally agreeing with everything you have said, I think that you should admit, at least to your fellow bloggers, that you are, at least for this week, quite chuffed 😉

    • Will Cookson
      June 16, 2011 at 10:24 pm #

      John,
      Next you’ll be suggesting that I look at my stats each day or that I’ve tracked my wikio ranking – its shocking I tell you, truly shocking!

      Oh, all right then.

  4. nig
    June 17, 2011 at 6:52 pm #

    that’s nothing. In our house you’re number one, and here’s the badge to prove it

    • Will Cookson
      June 18, 2011 at 10:04 am #

      Great Nigel, updated post to display my new badge!

Leave a Reply

