Who do you write like?

Well seemingly I write like George Orwell.

Who says so?

Well this blog site: I write Like

I even have the badge to prove it (so it must be true!):

I write like
George Orwell

I Write Like by Mémoires, journal software. Analyze your writing!

Admittedly I did have to paste in a few of my articles to find it.

Also, I did find that an uncanny few of my articles came out as Dan Brown! But that couldn’t have been right. Short sentences? Me? Surely not.

Tried it also on a few other blogs – Don’t worry Harvey your secret is safe with me – I won’t tell anyone.

Still, I like some of George Orwell’s writings and I’m happy for him to be compared to me – or is it the other way round??

12 comments on “Who do you write like?

  1. Sue Cooke
    May 11, 2011 at 5:59 pm #

    Neil Gaiman – whoever he is if I do it based on a sermon, H.P. Lovecraft if I base it on an essay!! Not heard of either – did you just keep pasting stuff in until you found an Author you knew and liked???

    In truth I am writing like a student with looming deadlines, a befuddled brain and too many books on my desk to ever be able to make sense of what Paul thinks it means to be a disciple of Christ. He never even uses the word disciple!!!

    Nice distraction, two other people in library now trying it!!

    • Will Cookson
      May 11, 2011 at 6:30 pm #

      Sue, can’t imagine you could say that! That I would trawl my blog for an acceptable answer!!

      In fact didn’t have to search too far!

  2. Rosie Edser
    May 11, 2011 at 9:33 pm #

    ha ha this is great!

    Sue good luck with that! FYI H. P Lovecraft is a dead Horror/Sci-Fi writer, Neil Gaiman wries dark fantasy.

    Reckon Harv’s comes out like CS Lewis or maybe Dickens… def someone with v long sentences!

  3. Will Cookson
    May 11, 2011 at 10:39 pm #

    I have to say that I just put in Nick Baines’ latest blog http://nickbaines.wordpress.com/2011/05/11/more-hand-wringing/ into the site and it says that he writes like William Shakespeare!!! Bows in adoration.

  4. nig
    May 12, 2011 at 8:05 am #

    just tried pasting nonsense in (herp derp herp derp, copy paste rinse and repeat) and apparently I’m Daniel Defoe, or with one more derp, Vladimir Nabokov.

    Adding ibble wibble dibble a few times results in being analysed as James Joyce . . . . scarily accurate!

    Fun promotional tool for the website and programme that’s being promoted, but I guess I can’t rely on it to start a new career.

    (this comment analyses as being in the style of Cory Doctorow)

  5. nig
    May 12, 2011 at 8:21 am #

    here’s a fun game- inserting a chunk of shakespeare resulted in ‘writes like Dickens’, and inserting some of ‘A Christmas Carol’ gave ‘writes like Stephen King’ … etc

    how many degrees of separation to complete the loop back to Shakespeare? (only those with too much time or an essay to avoid need try this)

  6. TheEvangelicalLiberal
    May 12, 2011 at 8:35 am #

    Thanks for preserving my secret Will! 😉 But I will now reveal it… depending which of my blog posts you analyse I got H.P. Lovecraft, Daniel Defoe or Cory Doctorow (who’s apparently a Canadian blogger and sci-fi author). I was hoping for more C.S. Lewis or G.K. Chesterton…

  7. David
    May 16, 2011 at 6:02 pm #

    Enid Blyton? ENID BLYTON!!!!!!!!!

    • Will Cookson
      May 18, 2011 at 12:37 pm #

      David, you obviously put the accounts into it to get a noddy answer.

  8. David
    May 18, 2011 at 7:58 pm #

    Cell notes actually!

  9. Will Cookson
    May 18, 2011 at 9:00 pm #

    Never – they rise to the heights of Dan Brown!

  10. johnm55
    May 22, 2011 at 12:31 pm #

    I stuck various samples from my blogs into the analyser, it’s a bit inconsistent, but it seems that I write either like James Joyce, H.P. Lovecraft or Stephen King.

Leave a Reply

