I think that I’ve missed something…..isn’t something happening on Friday?

Well I knew that I wasn’t thinking straight recently.

I have realised today that I will miss the party not only of the year – but according to the Tea Towel maybe of all time!

I am, of course, referring to the marriage of Wills an Kate – otherwise known as Prince William and Catherine Middleton.

Indeed because it doesn’t really visually impact me (no telly and nothing much in many of the Croydon shops) it has all passed me by.

That is until two things happened this week. Firstly, we have been invited to watch it with friends on TV in Ealing and secondly, Angie and I went for the day to Hastings today (as some of you may know I’m on holiday this week).

As to the first that was no big deal – I would go and sit with Simon and their boys and drink a few beers and talk about our forthcoming summer holidays and listen distractedly to the oohs and aahs next door.

But in Hastings I realised the full force of the wedding. These pictures are just a few of the shops cascading with reminders of the wedding (you can click on the pictures to see them better).

What was also interesting was that as I took a picture of one of the shops (Unforgetable) the lady who owned the shop started to talk to me about her enthusiasm for the wedding. She was saying that loads of people were wanting to buy the Union Jack pillow in the window but she refused to sell it (she gave me the nod that you could buy them in Matalan!).

Then in another shop the assistant was saying that her uncle was having a non-wedding day party (which seems to recognise a link to the party but that’s another matter).

So I realised how I’ve got it so wrong.

We should have had a party this Friday and invited all our friends and neighbours to it.

We should have had a huge projector screen to watch it all and had a great party for it.

And next door we should have had a bar where those that didn’t want to watch could have a chat and tell each other how great it was that they weren’t watching the wedding and what a great day they were having!

I could have even gone to Matalan and bought some pillows to sell to those who wanted them.

At double the price, of course.

But there is another serious point to be made.

And the tea towel puts it into focus.

To try and make out that William and Kate are in the same league as some of the romanticised romances is worrying. It plays into the media portrayal that is all too happy to over-romanticise a relationship and then look for any and every momentary lapse of devoted love to say that the relationship is in trouble or on the rocks.

How could any relationship live up to that.

And look at the list (click the picture below).

Didn’t all of the relationships there have major problems (and some end in disaster?).

No. lets enjoy the day (whether watching or not) and wish them every happiness and remember that they are mortal and will have good times and bad times together.

And remember that the papers and the journalists who are oohing and aahing over every detail on Friday will be the ones in a year or two’s time looking to bring them down.

3 comments on “I think that I’ve missed something…..isn’t something happening on Friday?

  1. Janet
    April 28, 2011 at 2:39 am #

    Will – here in Seattle we feel far removed from the events due to happen 8 hours ahead of us. No hoo-hah here that I am aware of although I think some of the British type pubs are doing something – according to Yelp. But we are just wondering what it is like “on the ground” so to speak in Britain.

    The American press I think is making a big thing of it. I should probably check the BBC or the Telegraph for what is happening on your side of the pond. And of course I should check the Irish Times since Ireland is/was our home for over 40 years.

  2. Angela Baker
    April 28, 2011 at 9:58 am #

    Hi Will,
    Hope you enjoyed your Hastings visit. I went there for a weekend with Dad, many years ago…
    I can understand why the wedding might not have overly impacted your household, as there is a much more important event happening tomorrow: Angie’s birthday!!!
    Enjoy the rest of your hol.s God bless,
    Angela x

  3. Will Cookson
    April 28, 2011 at 6:27 pm #

    Janet,

    We are well into wedding fever state now. Virtually wall to wall coverage. My cousin in Boston is saying that all the US TV channels have sent their top teams over here. There was even an article on the radio last night about how all the people camping out by Westminster Abbey were becoming international stars as they were all getting interviewed again and again!

    Angela, indeed it is my dear wife’s birthday tomorrow – its why she has graciously given most people a day off in honour! Hastings also was a delightful town.

Leave a Reply

