How long has it been? Really?

Well today is the sixth month “anniversary” of the blog.

Just thought you would like to know!

And being a statistician I thought you might want to know some of the statistics!! No, really – you do.

So how has the six months gone?

Well the blog has had about 28, 500 page views which seems ok to me – but then I don’t know how many most have.

My top 10 posts of the last six months have been:

Review – Chronicles of Narnia: Voyage of the Dawn Treader
Does God have a wife?
Famous, Rich and in the Slums – Part 2
Review – Bible’s Buried Secrets – Did King David’s Empire exist?
Famous, Rich and in the Slums
Review – Bible’s Buried Secrets – The Real Garden of Eden
Spending the Day at the RUSH Academy
Steve Jobs and the importance of leadership
Pictures of our first days journey to RUSH
On Safari

The Top 5 Most commented upon posts:

Review – Bible’s Buried Secrets – The Real Garden of Eden
Will Jesus return on May 21st at about 6pm?
Good without God
Blair vs Hitchens – some statistics and why the news has got it wrong
Choose your favourite Carol
Review of Love Wins by Rob Bell

The last two tied for 5th place.

Then the posts with the fewest reads (first has the least reads)!

A Brand new Blog!
To talk or not to talk
The Royal Navy
working with google
Debt crisis or Debt addiction

Then there are my favourites:

Favourite video – Gilbert and Sullivan & Barack Obama
Favourite Picture Gallery – More pictures of the Safari
Favourite Post – Not sure on this one , although I have a soft spot for It’s official Methodists more valuable than Anglicans

Update

Now just had the 500th post on the blog today as well. Well done Geoff C (aka Geoff Chandler) who commented on

Will Jesus return on May 21st at about 6pm?

So, I hope you’ve enjoyed the blog so far.

5 comments on “How long has it been? Really?

  1. TheEvangelicalLiberal
    April 8, 2011 at 9:11 am #

    I’ve just hit 3 months with my blog – haven’t checked out the stats yet but they won’t be as impressive as yours! 🙂

    • Will Cookson
      April 8, 2011 at 10:27 am #

      Yes but things always start slowly and build up (I imagine). My first 3 months had under 7,000 hits. Again, no idea how that compares or with what one compares it with!

  2. Esther Somerson
    April 9, 2011 at 7:01 pm #

    There must be a way of checking some of it officially ? but on the other hand does your comment signify that statistics can be messy? Under 7,000 is an incredibly broad spectrum… And on the other hand… can there be 3 hands ? … mathematics is pure science but calculations are sometimes flawed and do numbers always start off slowly and build up? Looking at probability and the throw of the die your imagining may be correct. Best to stick with something somewhere in the middle? I would be uncomfortable to think that I had been hit by 3,500 geeks in 6 months…. or by a few hundreds of times!

    Incidentally I would be grateful if anyone out there in cyber space could answer a group of us this – how do you make 75 look like 350 to get 76?

    • Will Cookson
      April 10, 2011 at 5:00 pm #

      Hi Esther, actually I do know the actual figures I just didn’t bother to add them up. For your info it’s 6,855!

      Of course, numbers don’t always just go up they are often peaks and troughs – certainly most blog stats I have see are at any rate.

  3. Esther Somerson
    April 15, 2011 at 11:14 pm #

    I was rather embarrassed about the comments above about the numbers because I had just arrived home from a long lazy afternoon in a restaurant with good wine,excellent food and good company (all a much needed treat). Hard to believe the teaching I had about probability had stuck! But I didn’t feel quite so bothered when I read your reply ‘stats I have see are’. Hope your wine was as good as ours, ha, ha!!
    6855 – so only one 6 & no 7s – I won’t bore you with the crass quip that could be made. Good night.

Leave a Reply

