Quote

Quote of the Day

Since I am coming to that holy room,
Where, with thy choir of saints for evermore,
I shall be made thy music; as I come
I tune the instrument at the door,
And what I must do then, think now before.

John Donne, Hymn to God my God, in my Sickness

One comment on “Quote of the Day

  1. Esther Somerson
    March 13, 2011 at 11:14 pm #

    How lovely. There is a point at which the soprano hits a note, feeling at a heavenly point in praise. I have not long experienced this. The hightest note. The discerning minister knows to have a pause of silence at the end of such a hymn (and mine did this evening.) The place is totally of the Spirit and it can take much prayer and a lot of thought and encouragement to have the miracle bestowed on one – the gift of singing. I understand the depth of your quote. ‘THEN SINGS MY SOUL, MY SAVIOUR GOD TO THEE’. Someone recently said to me ‘at last you have found your voice.’
    Thanks to John Donne and yourself for sharing.

Leave a Reply

