Final RUSH for Kenya

RUSH - Kakamega - Water pump

Well its finally hotting up for the last few days before the team fly off to Kenya on Saturday.

I’ve said previously that Virgin have been great and allowed us extra luggage space so that we can take extra things out for the RUSH project.

As the last days are coming about so people have poured in to generously give to RUSH. I now have two large boxes of Holiday Club T-shirts to pack. Today I am picking up 3 boxes of tops and shorts generously donated by Sutton Grammar school. We have had lots of people donate clothes and glasses and vitamins and money.

The next thing is to find space! I spent some of yesterday evening ringing round to see who had what in their case and where we might put some of the things we have. Great fun!

And still there is Harvey’s guitar to get in!

Then there are all the other bits and pieces. The anti-mosquito deet, hand wash, anti mosquito plugs, anti mosquito anything to buy. You may have noticed the mosquito theme there. Mosquito’s have an unerring knack of finding me and biting me. I have been on holidays where the rest of the family have no bites and there is me with bites all over.

So given the danger I am going prepared. Any anti-mosquito product known to man (or woman) will be in my bag.

I think that I am, as usual, the last to start packing but all that changes today. Need to check that we have all the equipment to blog our journey – cameras, small laptop, camcorder plus all the cables! Just hoping that the internet is up to it!

3 comments on “Final RUSH for Kenya

  1. Steve-in-Brazil
    February 11, 2011 at 12:38 am #

    And you have to start taking the pills 4 weeks before you leave, that’s three weeks ago!

    Anxious Brother

    • Will Cookson
      February 11, 2011 at 1:55 pm #

      Hi Steve,
      Do not be anxious – don’t need to start until today (or even when we arrive) as we need to start 48 hours before we arrive in a mosquito area and Nairobi isn’t a mosquito area. Planning to start today!

  2. nig
    February 11, 2011 at 1:46 pm #

    I suspect that the mosquitos zero in on the australian blood…..

Leave a Reply

