The best nativity…

Springfield Nativity Service

Nativity Service

It’s that time of year again when the nativity play comes to the fore. This Sunday we have our Nativity Service (provided the snow stays away – if you are planning on coming and the weather looks uncertain look at our website).

Now I love Nativity services. Having been to those not only at Church but also those of my four children. There is an immediacy, a sense that anything could happen (and often does!).

There are a number that have stood out for me over the years.

The first one that I remember was at my primary school where I was the Archangel Gabriel. It was my blond hair that did it – and not as some try to say because my grandmother bribed lent them the pile of nativity costumes that she had.

Angles Nativity Service

Angels

Then there were those that I remember more recently. One of my favourites was when Joseph and Mary were sitting by the cradle with baby Jesus (bored as usual as they have no lines) and Joseph started playing idly with a loose piece of wood and started hitting baby Jesus over the head. What was especially great was that the teacher looking after the play didn’t notice. Whenever she looked up due to the laughter he had put the wood down (and he wasn’t aware of what he was doing).

Or there was one occasion when my own daughter had baby Jesus under her dress and “gave birth” during the nativity – fabulous.

So what was your most memorable nativity? The funniest? Do you remember having a naff part (1st lobster or palm tree or similar)? Come on tell us. You know you want to……

3 comments on “The best nativity…

  1. Angela Baker
    December 16, 2010 at 7:50 pm #

    Hi Will,
    I’m a bit envious: I always wanted to play the angel! (Well, I thought being called Angela might have helped, but now I know it’s because I’m a brunette!)
    Did Angie ever play the angel? (Not that she’s not angelic enough as it is….creep crawl)
    Looking forward to Sunday (honest). Off to see Jenni soon to practise the songs!!
    God bless,
    Angela

  2. Harvey Edser
    December 17, 2010 at 12:37 pm #

    Not sure about my favourite, but the most bizarre has to be last year’s at Sally’s school, which featured alien visitors and a Prodigy and Queen soundtrack: http://colourlessgreendreams.blogspot.com/2009/12/alien-nativities-and-ghostly-carols.html

    I also remember one about 4-5 years ago at Springfield where your youngest was playing Mary and gave birth to Jesus at ultra-high velocity! 🙂

    I don’t think I was ever anything more exciting than a shepherd.

  3. Will Cookson
    December 17, 2010 at 3:16 pm #

    Do you realise Harvey it was actually 6-7 years ago! How time flies.

Leave a Reply

