Choose your “favourite” nativity set

Nativity Set

Nativity Set

I came across this blog site which listed the worst 20 nativity sets.

There are some truly awful ones.

Now we have a number of nativity sets at home (like the one on the left) which we have collected over the years. Most are your standard ones.

Joseph

Joseph with the "demon eyes"

One of them we painted them at the local pottery place. My daughters refer to the Joseph piece as having “demon

eyes”. But I really don’t think that it can compete with the class acts on the blog site.

Anyway my favourite from the blog site are:

This doggy one

and this chicken-lickin one

Anyone got any great Christmas offerings?

I suspect that the designers were thinking of the carol “In the Bleak mid winter” in the verse where it says:

What can I give Him, poor as I am?
If I were a shepherd, I would bring a lamb;
If I were a Wise Man, I would do my part;
Yet what I can I give Him: …..

It might have been better to have given them their hearts instead!

2 comments on “Choose your “favourite” nativity set

  1. johnm55
    December 18, 2010 at 1:57 am #

    I don’t know if it it is good taste, bad taste or saying something theologically profound, but he character of the Caganer that the Catalans often place in their nativity scenes appeals to me.

    • Will Cookson
      December 18, 2010 at 1:44 pm #

      John, its great. Hadn’t come across it before. It is a great reminder of the normal activities in life. A good antidote to carols like Away in a Manger!

Leave a Reply

