Dog Collars

As many of those who know me will tell you – I don’t go in for the clerical gear. Originally based on 3rd century Roman peasant dress and updated in the middle ages I just think it looks faintly ridiculous.

My grandmother differed on this one. She liked her vicars well dressed ( a churchwarden for over 40 years) and used to make all sorts of weird and wonderful articles for them to wear. She bought me a cloak for my ordination “because I think vicars should be properly turned out”, it has been used for dressing up more than anything else by my children.

So what would she make of my current set of dog collars???? The top one is my main one for some years now. The problem is that it keeps breaking and getting smaller and smaller. In fact it did its last snap just before the baptism service last weekend – rather stressful.

The key is that it only needs to cover the gap and you need to round off the sharp edges at the end – otherwise it works! I once spent over 1/2 an hour trying to insert one that I hadn’t rounded off but it just wouldn’t go into the shirt because of the sharp edges.

But do not worry I have some on order from Oasis bookshop and am about to go and get it – my grandmother can rejoice again! The confirmation service tomorrow with Bishop Nick will not be dishonoured.

4 comments on “Dog Collars

  1. Rosie Edser
    October 11, 2010 at 8:25 pm #

    ha ha! We know where to come to borrow a fancy dress cloak next time.
    In the days when dog collars were attached to shirts I once accidentally put my dad’s in with a red wash and the whole thing came out a mild shade of pink.

  2. Jean Grima
    October 17, 2010 at 10:45 pm #

    Very amused when looking at your dog collar blog to find a Google ad for a wholesaler selling collars for canines!

  3. Sue Cooke
    October 18, 2010 at 8:36 pm #

    Funnily enough this has been a topic of conversation at Ridley this week! The vestment people are coming in December and I need to decide whether to buy robes this year or next! I also need to work out what the minimum I need to buy is! But, for my church attachment in at least two of the churches I will need to robe to preach or lead. I am of a similar view to you though and the less I have to wear them the better. Alreday scandalised one person by suggesting I wear get my black frock (cassock?) lined in pink with white polka dots!!!

    • Will Cookson
      October 21, 2010 at 5:19 pm #

      Hi Sue, in my day the tat merchants got very upset if you showed disrespect for the vestments. They were known to complain to the college!

      If you end up having to. Wear them a lot then you need to think about more than one cassock – not only for cleaning purposes but also to have a summer one – believe me you can really swelter in them.

Leave a Reply

